Skip to content

100% is an unrealistic goal

January 24, 2013

As I think I’ve mentioned in a previous post, as part of my job, I equip others on the topic of goals and goal achievement.  People frequently write goals such as “I will come into work 5 minutes early” or “I will exercise daily” or “I’m going to floss my teeth everyday”.   In these situations, I ask them, is 100% what you are striving for?  It the goal really to come to work 5 minutes early every day for the next year?  What if you miss a day or two, have you failed?  I think striving for 100% is unrealistic.  In my  life, when I want to start something new or adopt a new habit, I strive for 5 out of 7 days of the week.  That way if I miss exercising one day, I’m not tempted to give up on the week entirely, but can still reach my weekly goal of 5 out of 7 days of the week.  I’m sure 100% would be super, but in most cases, doing something most days is good enough.

So far this year, I have written a blog post almost every day.  Perhaps many of you have come to expect that.  But to be honest, I never really thought that would be the case.  In my life, there are going to be days when knitting and blogging just aren’t going to happen.  Yesterday was one of those days.  There will be more.  My measure of success is 5 out of 7 days of the week.  So don’t panic when I miss a day, I’ll be back.  And while I might not blog every day, I will knit the rows for every day, just maybe not on the actual day.  For example I wrote down the sky report for yesterday, but knit the rows for yesterday and today this morning.

They say that a SMART goal is specific, measurable, attainable, realistic, and time-sensitive.  So give yourself a break and set a goal or make a plan that is attainable and realistic.  5 out of 7 ain’t bad.

Sky Report at 1:00 on Wednesday: overcast, but bright

Yarn Strands for Wednesday: white and rain

Sky Report at 10:15 on Thursday: clear blue skies

Yarn Strands for Thursday: light denim blue and light slate blue (I wished I had two strands of light slate blue, but since I only have one ball of that colour at this time, I went with two shades of blue that are similar)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

