Skip to content

the power of a check mark

February 6, 2013

checklist green

Checking something or stroking something off a list is a pretty powerful thing.  Many people find it very motivating.  Currently I have 2 different apps on my iPad where I check off each day when I’ve “knit”, “blogged”, and a couple other things I am striving to do daily.  In the one app, a leaf, grew into a branch, which grew into a tree with every check mark.  But for me this “growth” wasn’t as motivating as just checking the item off each day.  It is great to look back over the month and see so many check marks.  Similarly, creating a ‘to do’ list and then stroking things off as you complete them is also motivating.  I have refrained from adding knitting and blogging to my ‘to do’ lists; as it seems a bit excessive when I already have 2 checklist apps where I track these things.

I share this with you for two reasons:

  1. If you are having trouble motivating yourself to do something, consider adding it to a “to do” list where you can stroke it off OR creating a daily checklist (either on a paper calendar or a computer-based option)
  2. Part of my experience with knitting and blogging over the past month is that every day when I finish each of these tasks I check them off, not one but two different lists.  Often as I do it, Russell says “check”.   It makes me happy; which contributes to the overall positive feels I have about these activities.

CHECK

Sky Report at 10:00 – clear blue sky

Yarn Strands: two blues

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. allyjeanmac permalink

    Will Russ say ‘Check’ for me too? It might help me with my lacklustre list making…

Leave a Reply

