Skip to content

Oh what a beautiful morning…

February 10, 2013

So much to write about today.  Some days I struggle to identify something to write about, but not today.

#1 This morning was beautiful!!!  The frost on everything was so thick.  To make it even better the sun came out and made things sparkle.  All I can say is “wow”.

#2 I might need to start “expanding my skills” in a less complex way than learning to turn a heal.  Last night, while visiting friends, I was asked to help an 8 year old start a knitting project.  She had previously carefully read the instructions and started on the scarf project; unfortunately, her younger sister had gotten a hold of the yarn and needles and so there was a need to start again.  After finding the end of the yarn, I confidently looped the strand around my fingers and wove the needle through like I’ve seem my maaam do several times.  I think I’ve even done it myself a time or two.  But time after time, the yarn would just fall off the needle and there was no beginning loop with which to start casting on.  I was beginning to feel like a failure in front of the 8 year old, who had previously figured out how to get started and then cast on all by herself.   After several of my failed attempts, she took the yarn, made a loop, and that was the end of that.  I was able to show her how to cast on and then do a row of knitting.  However, it seemed awkward and difficult for her, making me think maybe the way I knit is strange and unique.  Anyway, I guess I’ll go back to learning to make a loop all by myself before I jump feet first into the stocking heal.  Just yesterday afternoon, I read in a magazine that when you want advice you shouldn’t be afraid to seek insight from the young.  I think should have taken that advice more to  heart when it came to the  bright and resourceful 8 year old’s knitting project.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Christine permalink

    Thanks for getting it started I really got the hang of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

