Skip to content

Being Busy

February 23, 2013

“Business is not the same as fruitfulness”

Being busy has become the appropriate response when asked how you are doing or how things are going?  I’m not sure when being busy became a badge of honour.  Maybe we are all a bit afraid that if we don’t say “busy” the person will ask us to do something.  Maybe we can’t think about our lives in any other way.  But being busy isn’t the same as being productive or fruitful.  I truly believe, that our level of business is a choice.  I’ve encountered many people who will argue with me that they don’t have choices about how they spend their time, but even what we see might see as an obligation is still a choice.  There is nothing wrong with being driven, being productive, being fruitful.  But sometimes I think those attributes are over-rated or at least over-valued.  Many of us have been conditioned to believe that this is more value in “doing” than in “being”.

I don’t want to my answer about how I’m doing to be “things are pretty busy”.  That said, consciously making decisions and taking actions to ensure that isn’t my answer, is seldom easy.  Perhaps harder still, is being okay with living a less “productive” life.  But it is so great when you have a day or a week that reflects that perfect balance between business and fruitfulness.  Today was one of those days for me.  A day like today reminds me that the balance is possible.  I hope you have one of those days or weeks someday soon as well.

Sky Report at 10:00 ish – overcast – at that time it really was more grey than bright even if this afternoon there was a brief window where it was sunny.

Yarn Strands: grey and white

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

