Skip to content

I am so glad…

February 24, 2013

Many of you have told me that you enjoy seeing what I choose to write about each day.  Well this post isn’t about knitting, or blogging, or goals, or slowing down.  But as I thought about what to write and reflected on the day, the thought that kept coming back to me is… I am just so glad that mac and cheese has become a fancy, party worthy menu item.  (Bet you didn’t see that statement coming).

I know there are people who don’t love macaroni and cheese, but I am not one of them.  For me it is the ultimate comfort food and as a menu item is associated with many good memories.  Good old Kraft dinner was one of the few things I ate as a child, while working at summer camp during high school –  mac and cheese in a bowl with a spoon was my favourite night off leftover; and in recent years homemade macaroni is a common winter Saturday lunch option in my house.  These are all pretty traditional places to find mac and cheese.  But recently mac and cheese has moved to a whole new level.  In the past 6 months I have attended 3 parties where mac and cheese was served along with other lovely and fancy appetizers/food choices.  I’m not always sure what ingredients were included in these party versions, but they are always fantastic.  Sure truffle oil and lobster help “fancy up” this basic dish, as does serving it in a mini-dish or on a tiny spoon; but really at the heart it’s just pasta and cheese, a combination that results in magical goodness.

So no deep insights or ideas about how to life your life or the similarities between knitting and macaroni; just a celebration that the ordinary (i.e., mac and cheese) can be elevated to party status.

Sky Report at 9:30ish – overcast but the snow made it bright

Yarn Strands: white and rain (the lightest blue)

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Marni Herold permalink

    You have unknowingly made a very deep insightful connection with your post :). In the cheese world, ‘knitting’ means encouraging curd particles to fuse together into one giant mass. For those of you who wish to explore this connection further….
    http://www.meltmacaroni.com/2012/knitting-cheddaring-sharpening-your-curds/
    …and of course I googled Mac and Cheese and Knitting as I sit here at my desk eating my lunch…wishing it was Lobster Mac and Cheese. Thank you!

    • Who would have guessed – knitting and cheese go together. Marni, thanks so much for the great link (it’s informative and humourous) and for helping me learn something new everyday.

Leave a Reply

