Skip to content

A self-conscious tuque wearer

March 2, 2013

I like to wear tuque.  Many people do.  However, I realize that most people limit their tuque wearing to when they are outside on a cold winter day.  I like to wear one winter, spring, and fall (I generally don’t in the heat of summer).  I also frequently wear one in the house.  It started as a great way to keep my hair out of my face, so in this way, it functions a bit like a hair band.  It is also a great option on Saturday’s when I my hair doesn’t get the same styling attention as other days of the week.  Over the past year, I have acquired several tuques.  Some as hand-me-downs, some as gifts, some purchased, some knit by my maaam.  Wearing a tuque makes me happy.

tuquesGenerally, when I wear a tuque it isn’t a bit deal.  Well okay, Russell still does poke fun at me now and again when I’m wearing my tuque.  I’m okay with that.  Anyway, so aside from a time when a volunteer at the thrift store made me take a tuque off to show her how it was knit/crocheted; I get very few comments about the tuque wearing.  That was until a few weeks ago when I wore a tuque to an informal event at church.  Maybe people just saw the tuque as a conversation starter or maybe they really are concerned that I cold (or they were cold an hoping for validation), but almost every person who spoke with me commented on the tuque.  It made me a bit self-conscious about my tuque wearing habits, to the point that since then my tuque wearing frequency as gone way down.  But as in many situations in life, we eventually get over our self-consciousness and just go back to do what makes us happy.  And if we don’t; then we should.

FYI – I know not every post is or has to be about knitting, but I wanted to let you know that this one, since my tuques are all knit.  Of course not knit by me, tuques seem kind of tricky, but knit nevertheless.

Sky Report at 10:00 – overcast

Yarn Strands: grey and white

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

