Skip to content

Wendell Berry

March 6, 2013

Have you heard of Wendell Berry?  A colleague of mine introduced me to him years ago.  I’m always amazed at the wide variety of places Wendell Berry references pop up.   Most recently, he was referenced in an article in my denominations magazine publication and earlier this week he was quoted in the book I’m reading.  I jotted down in my blog notebook that this quote was good for my blog as it is in keeping with the concept of slowing down.  I think it’s an excerpt from a poem.

“I confess my sins:
that I have not been happy enough,
considering my good luck;
have listened to too much noise;
have been inattentive to wonders;
have lusted after praise.”

I know, I know, it’s a bit of deep thought.  As I recall, Wendell Berry often requires a second or third read to absorb.  But I liked the part about filling life with too much noise and being inattentive to the wonders of the world.

If you want to know more about Wendell Berry check out this wikipedia page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wendell_Berry or this website about him: http://www.wendellberrybooks.com/

 

Sky Report: I confess – I’m just guessing today.  I didn’t notice what the sky was like this morning at 10:00.  On the drive in, I know it was overcast.  This afternoon it was clear and sunny, but by supper time it had clouded over.  So I decided to do an average.  I seem to be frequently forgetting to check the sky at 10:00 am, so I have just set a daily alarm on my phone.  I hope it doesn’t cause a problem in my meeting tomorrow. 🙂

Yarn Strands: light denim blue and white

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. a friend forwarded a link to your blog to me. I find myself checking in about once a week on your progress and enjoy your daily observations. the Wendell Berry quote got me thinking about not appreciating all I have. and althought I’ve had more than my fair share of “bad luck” over the past few years, I have a life full of good things right now that I should be happy enough. I heard a quote recently from Lincoln that said “people are about as happy as they make up their minds to be”. which is simular I thought to the first 3 lines of the Berry quote. So I confess I am trying to sin less each day. thanks for sharing your daily thoughts with the world.

    • KJ – Thanks so much for reading and for taking the time to post a comment. Your quote from Lincoln is fantastic. Thanks for sharing it. Megan

Leave a Reply

