Skip to content

Vas Moia Marta

March 8, 2013

The subject line for this post is my attempt to phonetically spell March 8 in Russian.  March 8 is International Women’s Day.  I first learned about March 8 from my friend of Russian heritage; and hence I continue to refer to it by it’s Russian name.  My friend’s father always recognized this event for the women in his life.  I like that tradition.  I have worked hard to honour women on this day and encourage others in my life to do the same.  Of course, men often ask “when is International Men’s Day”, to which I have no response.

But on a more serious note, many people and organization use this day to draw attention to women’s issues or celebrate the accomplishments of women.  In many parts of the world women continue to struggle to be viewed as equals.  I take my rights and freedom’s for granted.  I live in a time and place where I have choices and can make those choices as independently has I want.  I am so thankful for these freedoms and choices.

I have been blessed with so many positive female role models throughout my life.  I know so many smart, funny, caring women of all ages and am honoured to have them in my life.  As I reflect on these amazing women and the moments I have spent with them, I wish I had the time to tell each and every one of them how wonderful they are and the ways they have touched my life. 

Sky Report at 10:00 – unfortunately the sun wasn’t shining yet

Yarn Strands: grey and white

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. lindai permalink

    yeh!

Leave a Reply

