Skip to content

Be Yourself

March 11, 2013

“If everybody likes you, you’re faking it.”

– Donald Miller

“Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

– Dr. Seuss

These two great thoughts were re-tweeted by people I follow on Twitter.  I have always been the kind of person where what you see is what you get.  I’m generally okay with the fact that not everyone will appreciate all aspects of who I am.  However, as I mature, I have being working on rounding off some of my rough edges.  At least some of the time.  I have learned that in some situations, my relationships with others benefit from not always letting the full force of Megan shine.  I’m not saying I’m doing a great job of this, or have abandoned my “take me as I am” philosophy, but it is some thing I keep in mind.  That said, not so long ago I had a conversation with a life-long friend and we decided that we didn’t need to censor our opinions; as if we weren’t good enough friends to tell the other when we disagree or have said something that hurt the other, then maybe we aren’t as close as we thought.  It was a great conversation to have had together and reminded me of why we have been friends for so long.  We all need to have people our their lives with whom we can be 100% ourselves and know we are still loved and accepted.  Apparently Donald Miller and Dr. Seuss knew it too.

Sky Report at 10:00 am – raining

Yarn Strands: Until today, I hadn’t given much thought to what colour of yarn strands to use when it rains.  When it snows, I have generally done two white strands.  But I’m struggling a bit with how to differentiate rain from overcast.  When it is overcast, I knit with white and grey.  So after some contemplation, I have decided that rain means two strands of grey; even though today it really wasn’t so dark and storming.  Then again, on dark and rainy days I’ll be able to include the dark grey.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. love the Dr. Seuss quote and how the writings for kids are so simple that we adults should be quoting them so often. I personally am a fan of A.A. Milne quotes although I prefer to say they come from Winnie the Pooh…here’s one that fits into your theme today ” Weeds are flowers too once you get to know them” . Silly old bear…

Leave a Reply

