Skip to content

Change Your Mind

March 12, 2013

A couple of days ago someone posted a comment that included this quote from Lincoln “people are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.”  For a couple of weeks, I’ve been considering sharing a song entitled Change Your Mind.  Today seems to be the right day for that.  The quote from Lincoln, the song, and something I was reading lately; all are about the fact that if we want to change something, we need to change the way we think about it.  That  might be our perception of happiness, a circumstance in our life, or as the book was talking about a behaviour.  Changing our thinking about something can have a huge impact on how we experience it or in our efforts to alter a pattern or behaviour in our life.

The song’s chorus lyrics often creep into my head:

“If you want to be somebody else,
If you’re tired of fighting battles with yourself
If you want to be somebody else
Change your mind…”

If you want to be someone else, you need to change your mind.  Here is a link to the lyrics: http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/sisterhazel/changeyourmind.html .  I have also included a youtube video link.  I gotta say I was  a bit disappointed in the options available, this is the best I could find.  It’s a live version of Sister Hazel (the band) playing the song.  It’s a slightly different version than the original recording and has a long (about one minute) acoustic intro.  But is a pretty good option.  Click here to see it.

A cautionary tale:  Once a couple of years ago, I was deal with some type of challenge and was using this song to remind myself that I had the power to change my mind and hence my life.  As part of these efforts, I got in my car one morning on the way to work and put on this song, turned it up loud, and started singing.  Apparently, in addition to motivating myself, it also had the effect of causing me to speed up.  As it turned out, there was a police car coming the other way on the road.  He quickly did a u-turn and pulled me over.  While this was in the days before the focus on distracted drivers, I knew enough not to tell him the loud music made me do it.  In the end, he didn’t give me a ticket, stating that this was the road I live on and I should know better.  Moral of the story: be careful when playing motivating music very loudly in the car.

Sky Report at 10:00 am – not really raining, not really snowing, but there was some sort of precipitation in the air and it was far from bright.

Yarn Strands: two grey

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. glad you liked the lincoln quote. thanks for the link. there is an amazing world of free music on You Tube..I admit to spending too much time on it some days.

Leave a Reply

