Skip to content

You have to want to change

March 18, 2013

For the past couple of weeks, this idea that ‘you have to want to change’ has kept popping up in my head and life.  I have written about change several times before.  The idea of changing the way you think about something, the importance of setting goals and having a plan, of being intentional, the benefits of using motivating things like check marks to track progress, and likely other ideas as well.  But lately it’s the idea that you have to want to change if something is going to be different that keeps jumping into my mind.  And wanting to change means giving up the old ways.  Even when we don’t like our old/existing ways, they are comfortable and familiar and we know what to expect.  We know how people will respond and what the outcome will be.  There is so much power in the familiar.  Something new,whatever that “new” might be, means we have to give up that sense of comfort and familiarity.

I’m going to throw in a biblical reference here.  To be clear, I am not a biblical scholar and don’t claim to have done the amount of work or reading to know if what I’m going to share is just an observation or has some deeping biblical insight.  But recently I’ve heard more than one story where Jesus heals someone, where prior to the healing he asks the person if they want to be healed of their affliction.  Being healed means giving up the life they have always known, even if that life wasn’t always great.  In life, we aren’t always wanting someone or something or even ourselves to change something big (i.e., like the people in the bible); but if something is going to different, we have to be willing to give up whatever are used to now.  This had made me think about some things I have tried over and over to do, often with limited success; but maybe the question I need to ask is not “how to change?” but “do I want to change; really and truly?”.  I think sometimes the answer is “not enough”.

I’m not sure I’ve done a good job of explaining this idea.  If I haven’t, you can either add a comment and ask a question or you can just let it go and wait for tomorrow’s post, which may be clearer.  🙂

Sky Report at 10:00 – overcast

Yarn Strands: grey and white

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

