Skip to content

Thursday – Quit Something

April 4, 2013

In January, someone shared with me Bob Goff’s list of ways to lead an extraordinary life.  Number 5 is Quit Stuff.

5. Quit Stuff

Every Thursday, I quit something,Goff says.  It’s one of his more infamous habits, one that he follows faithfully” and, often, dramatically. He’s been known to break apartment leases, throw out furniture and quit jobs. You can quit cussing if you want, he says, but go a little higher up on the tree.  It can be something really good.

His most recent Thursday resignation was from the board of a prominent charity. I called the guy that runs it up and said, I’m out! And he said, How come? And then he paused and said, No! Thursday!

The idea is not to be a liability to charitable organizations (although that might be part of the fallout). It’s to give yourself room to grow and to give God room to work. The patterns of life can weigh down and hold back. Quitting things forces you forward to explore new opportunities, to try things you wouldn’t have time for otherwise and to fill your life with things that are fresh, different and dangerous.

This week I quit something.  When I quit, I wasn’t specifically thinking of Bob’s point, but afterwards it did get me thinking about it.  Quitting something feels great!  Earlier this week, I said I wouldn’t help with the logistics for an event, like I’ve been doing for the past 3 or 4 years.  It’s not that I really disliked helping with these tasks, but they did limit my ability to help with something else during that time.  And similar to Bob’s idea of creating room in my life, sometimes it feels like life doesn’t have any “give”.   And when our lives are that full, even if everything is good, we miss great opportunities or choose not to do things that might end up being amazing.

I encourage you to give it a try, embrace Quit Thursdays.

Sky Report: Beautiful clear blue skies, a welcome change.

Yarn Strands: light slate blue and light denim blue

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

