Skip to content

Courage

April 5, 2013

It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are. ~ e.e. cummings

I got this quote from my 19 year old niece (right now she is reading this and saying she is 20, but on the day she shared it with me she was still 19).

It is tempting to say that at 19 she doesn’t have a clue what growing up is all about.  But there is nothing you could offer me that would make me go back to being a teenager.  It isn’t that those years were horrible; but I still wouldn’t want to repeat them.  Maybe the quote resonates with her as the courage required for ‘growing up’ during the teenage years is recent and fresh.  But I think the challenges associated with ‘becoming who we really are‘ might change over time, but they don’t really go away.  And it still takes courage.

As I write, I realize that this quote fits with many of the things I’ve written about recently.  Many of you continue to talk to me or comment on the post about things to stop in your twenties  and it fits well with those ideas.  The courage associated with becoming who we are really are also aligns with the ideas from the posts about change and wanting to change.

Finally, this quote has been an opportunity for me to learn more about e.e. cummings – his name was familiar, but I really didn’t know anything about him.  If you want to turn this into a self-direct adult learning opportunity – check out this link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/E._E._Cummings .

Sky Report: I missed looking this morning – was it clear or were there clouds this morning?

Yarn Strands: I’m still deciding – either the two blues or one blue and one white

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

