Skip to content

I got out the car

April 27, 2013

A couple of days ago, I was wondering when spring would arrive.  And then it did.  I know this, because on Friday many people asked me if I had driven the bug.  I hadn’t but that morning I did put “get out the car” on my weekend to do list.  Today I drove home from the farm with the top down and then gave the exterior a quick wash.  It survived the winter – the battery is working this spring and despite a run in with a skunk it seems to be okay.

Not all of you may be aware but 2 summers ago I bought a convertible.

car cropped

My convertible makes me happy.  Sometimes I’m uncomfortable with how happy it makes me, as I feel one shouldn’t get so much joy from “stuff”.  But it is hard to not be happy when driving with the top down and the sun on my face.  I think a lot of this happiness is rooted in why I got the car.

A few years ago, I was struggling to find joy.  As part of the experience, I spent time thinking about the things that made me happy and the things that were more likely to drain me.  Being outside is something made me happy then and continues to make me happy.   Work was an environment that it was harder to feel positive about.   While the idea of not working was appealing, I also knew that wasn’t a great long term plan for  me.  I couldn’t just stop working and move to a cabin by the ocean, or magically create a source of income that meant I only had to work 3 hours per day.  And vacations are great, but I only had some many vacation days as a year.  I needed something that could help on a daily basis.  So I started thinking about what I could add to my work experience to ensure that there were things that made me happy, to balance the things that drained me.   My convertible means that on warm sunny days, I am outside more than in my regular car.  Driving my convertible to work means I start the day on a positive note.  It wasn’t until I got my convertible that I noticed the amazing smell from the cookie factory I pass on my route to work.  Driving home in my convertible ensures that I instantly forget about everything that happened at the office and just enjoy the ride.

Sometimes in life we can’t eliminate all the not so great aspects of something.  Not so great things are part of life.  But in those situations, we can make sure we add in enough good stuff to balance or overshadow the not so great parts, making the entire experience better on the whole.   This car that I can drive with the top down every day in the summer, and let’s me feel like I’m outside, makes it so much easier to go to work on those days.   It helps more than a day off or the countdown to a week’s vacation.  It makes me happy every time I drive it.  So I still don’t think “stuff” is the best solution to our problems; but sometimes the right stuff is just the tipping point we need to enjoy each day a bit more fully.

Sky Report at 10:00 – clear sunny skies

Yarn Strands: two blue

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Darolyn permalink

    Your car salesman is over the moon that you love your bug so much!!

Leave a Reply

