Skip to content

May the 4th, a Day Late

May 5, 2013

Some of you have commented on the variety in my posts.  I think today’s post will contribute to that sentiment/observation.

I have a warm place in my heart for the original Star Wars trilogy.  And so  May the Fourth brings a smile to my face.  No I don’t have any memorabilia, or costumes, or even a copy of the movies for that matter.   The original Star Wars trilogy was realized in the late 70’s.  As a child of the 80’s, Star Wars was all around me.  I can’t say I noticed very much.  I really wasn’t into that kind of thing and neither was anyone that close to me.  It wasn’t until the mid-90’s when I went to visit a camp friend at university in Peterborough that I gained any appreciation for Star Wars.  Over the course of that weekend, it came to light that several of us who were visiting had never seen the movies.  This shocked and applaud, the camp friend’s boyfriend.  He was a huge fan.  And that weekend we watched all 3 of the original movies.  He was happy to explain things, identify the odd and strange creatures, and clarify who were the good guys and the bad guys.  I don’t remember the boyfriend’s name and he did last; but his love for Star Wars infected me.   Whether for good or for bad, the Star Wars franchise continues to be a defining part of our social culture.  It shaped those of us raised in the 80’s and transcends generations, as I know a 4 year old who is pretty obsessed these days.  While I”m not in the obsessed category, I’m glad I can carry on an informed conversation with that 4 year old (although he does know more than me and has seen the movies far more often); and I’m glad I understand Star Wars references in movies, tv shows and books.  And so that is why May the 4th makes me smile.

May the Fourth be with you.

Sky Report at 9:30 am – blue sky with awesome airplane trails

Yarn Strands: light slate blue and light denim blue

Yesterday’s report – At 10:00 I was in my convertible, the sky was blue but there were clouds so I did light slate blue and rain.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

