Skip to content

Joy is Contagious

May 21, 2013

In the past, I have commented on themes within my blog posts.  And in those cases, the themes were not intentional, but things I noticed over time.  They likely reflected the things that were happening or going on in my life or the world at that time.  I’m going to be transparent about the fact that over the next few weeks, I’m going to share ideas from a book I just finished.  I have already shared one idea with you; but there were just so many things I underlined while reading.  Sometimes, in addition to the underlining, I would write “blog” in the margin to identify things I thought I could blog about.   While I don’t to steal the credit for these ideas, I’m also a bit hesitant to share the title and author.  We’ll see what happens with that over time.

Here is today’s thought from the book:

“Joy is contagious,
and despair brings everybody down,
and when positive energy is present and flowing,
we all benefit.”

Think about how true this is.  The author is talking about how we are all connected and the way one person can impact those around them.  Some people fill us up and some people suck us dry.  And some people it’s a bit of both, but that is okay because we expect the same from them – we know that some days it is oneself that is doing the filling and other days the sucking dry.   But to return to the point the author is making, he basically is reminding us that we are connected in ways we can’t see, in ways that defy rational explanation, but no person can deny that they have felt and experienced these connections.  There is more to the world than just the things we can see and rationally or scientifically explain.

“joy is contagious”

Sky Report at 10:00 – overcast but the sun was trying to shine and by later it did.

Yarn Strands: grey and white

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Laura permalink

    This reminds me of something my mom used to tell me as a teenager, “smile and the whole world smiles with you…frown and you frown alone.”

Leave a Reply

