Skip to content

Barenaked Ladies

June 5, 2013

Yesterday, while driving home, I heard the new Barenaked Ladies song.  I cranked the radio up very loud and experienced a few minutes of pure happiness.  The song wasn’t “Boomerang“,  which is relatively new and very catchy.  Their newest new song is called “Odds Are”.  It has some great lyrics and I gotta say is a good song.

This new song was introduced along with the information that the Barenaked Ladies were celebrating 25 years.  And in this instance learning something had been in my life for 25 years, didn’t make me feel old.  Rather it made me realize how many fantastic Barenaked Ladies songs have been favorites in my life at one point or another.

One of my first concert experiences was going to see Barenaked Ladies, it was in May, near my birthday, but I can’t remember what year that was.  If someone reading this remembers how old we were, they should share that info.  It was during the era when audience members brought boxes of Kraft dinner to concerts to throw during the song “If I had a Million Dollars.” I remember the day/night fondly.

Other songs that I have loved over the years include “Alcohol” which was featured on the homemade compilation entitled “The House on Billy Sings”.   This was also when my friends and I modified the words to “It’s all been done” to “It’s all Linda” (try the substitution, it works well).   Every Christmas, despite it’s references to a different faith’s holiday, I sing along with “Dreidle, Dreidle, Dreidle“.   And when I drive near large Hydro wires I think of the song “Light Up My Room” which includes the lyrics “I can put a spare bulb in my yard and light up my yard”.  Russ says he remembers his cousin doing that.   I haven’t even mentioned that BNL sings the theme songs to one of our favourite TV shows – Big Bang Theory.

For many Canadians, Barenaked Ladies songs connect us.  Just a week or so ago, a colleague and I shared a smile as the phrase “This is Me in Grade 9” was said in response to a situation – we both admitted to singing the song in our heads at that moment.  Until, I started composing this blog, I’m not sure I realized the full extent that this band has been a part of the soundtrack of my life.  I don’t consider myself a hard core Barenaked Ladies fan, I wasn’t devastated nor did I feel personally hurt when Steven Page left the band.  But I do love many of their songs and own several of their albums.

I used to ask people what their 3 favourite Tragically Hip songs were, as I thought it said a lot about person.  After today, I’m thinking a better question is what are your 3 favourite Barenaked Ladies songs?

Whether you are familiar with the Barenaked Ladies or not, I hope you have listened to some of the songs I linked of this page.  For a full list of Barenaked Ladies, check out their official web-page.  If you think BNL has also been a part of the soundtrack of your life over the past 25 years, seize this opportunity to post a comment and share the songs you love most.

Sky Report at 10:00 – mix of sun and cloud

Yarn Strands – light slate blue and rain

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. lindai permalink

    BNL always make me think of the time I heard the “demo” tape, while I was squeezed in the front seat of Gary Fast’s truck. Perhaps I remember it more fondly than he does. Both Gordon and Stunt lent the background music to some very fun times.

  2. Laura permalink

    Too funny. At 6 pm tonight at the bike shop the sales guy and I were talking about our earliest BNL memories. i told him that i saw them in a small venue in Ottawa the summer of 1991 and I bought their indie demo “the Yellow Tape”. It only had 5 songs on the cassette and when you flipped it over it was the same 5 songs again! I’m sad to say I sold it on eBay about 10 years ago. Although I guess I don’t have a Walkman to play it on anyway.

Leave a Reply

