Skip to content

Magic in my Garden

June 17, 2013

I know this blog is supposed to be about knitting, but I was a gardener long before I started knitting everyday.  I have mentioned before that June is the month when my garden shines; but this year it is particularly magnificent.  I’m not sure if it was the hot dry summer last year, or the ample late snowfall between February and April, or the cool wet spring.  Whatever the cause, I’m enjoying the result.

Particularly noteworthy this year are the lupins.  I have always loved lupins and so always let them go to seed in the hopes there will be more.  I love that they magically change colours so that the seeds from a pink lupin sometimes grow into a purple lupin. I love seeing wild lupins growing in ditches and medians.  Last week, while traveling to Huntsville I noticed  them blooming as we got further north, and a couple of years ago when driving to Winnipeg the ditches around Thunder Bay were teaming with them.  The picture below shows just one spot in my garden where the lupins have taken over this year, but there are a few other spots where they look this full and beautiful.

lupinsjune172013

So while I love lupins and don’t thwart their reproduction, at this exact moment my absolute favourite flower is also blooming in my garden.   Surprisingly, I don’t actually know the name of this flower.  It came with the house and I’ve never really been able to find out it’s official name.  It has fern like leaves at it’s base, but it’s the flower that is the cause of my affection.  The flower starts out looking like a tiny pink ball and then turns into a lacy white flower.  I think it is so amazing that something you think will bloom pink is actually white.

DSCF0023

Lupins seeds that spread and change colour; the pink bud that becomes a white flower – there really is magic in my garden.

Sky Report at 10:00 – blue sky with a few white clouds

Yarn Strands: light slate blue and white

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

