Skip to content

denial and optimism

June 19, 2013

Today I heard a researcher talking about the role of denial in the evolution of humans.  It was an interesting idea.  As with many things I hear or read, I take a small piece of what was shared and run with it.  In this case, the point that I liked best was that optimism is the result of strong sense of denial about reality.  One has to be able to deny what they rationally know to be true about the odds of something happening or not happening to be optimist about the outcome.  The researcher also listed other traits that come from this overactive denial, such as bravery, courage, and the like.  Kind of makes sense don’t you think.

Since I try to fit ideas and fit them into my world-view; I’m turning idea around: if optimism is the result of too much denial, then my rather pessimistic approach to life is that my sense of denial is weak or under-developed.  So then it’s not my fault, it’s genetics or environment or a combo of both and when it comes to evolution, my type shouldn’t thrive.    I know, I know, I need to read yesterday’s post – no making excuses, the problem is me.  🙂

Sky Report at 9:45 in Cobourg – clear blue skies

Yarn Strands: light slate blue and light denim blue

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

