Skip to content

Canada Day!

July 1, 2013

canada sparklers

Happy Canada Day!

Did you know that it was only in 1982 that this day officially became known as Canada Day?  Yep a fun fact to start off your holiday Monday morning.

Many of us have Canada Day traditions.  As a child, my traditions were pretty regimented and involved sitting on the curb in front of my grandparents house watching the mid-day parade.  As an adult, my practices are less consistent, to the point that I’m not sure I have traditions.

But a couple of my strongest Canada Day memories are:

(1) being in Ottawa in the mid-nighties and being offered the chance to make a free cell phone call to anyone in Canada.  This was in the day when if we had a cell phone it was larger than a box of kleenex and required it’s own carrying bag.  I seized the opportunity to call my friend who shares a birthday with Canada.

(2) two years ago when I was part of the living Canada Flag in Winnipeg.  I was visiting my sister who lives seconds from the Manitoba legislation building where the photo was being taken.  It was a rainy morning and neither my sister or my husband were willing to come along.  So we found a red pajama top (thanks to my maam for the fuzzy pajama set she gave my sister the Christmas before) and I put a white shirt underneath that so I could be in either the red section or the white section, and I headed out by myself.  I’ve included the photo below.  While you can’t actually “see” me, I am in the red panel on the left side, right near where the tip of the leave is closest to the panel.  It really was a once in a life time experience and I love that I did it.

Canada Day Living Flag3

In addition to it being Canada Day, this marks the half way point in the sky scarf knitting and blogging project.  Hurray for us!

PS – check out today’s google doodle and see google’s tribute to Canada Day.

Sky Report at 9:40ish: overcast

Yarn Strands: grey and white

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. allyjeanmac permalink

    We watched from my balcony the whole time though, promise!!

Leave a Reply

