Skip to content

data doesn’t lie

July 2, 2013

I’m not saying data can’t be misinterpreted. Or that data doesn’t benefit from context.  And in many situations, I think data benefits from more data . But it never lies.

I’ve read 8 books since May 1st.  This statistic on it’s own is not particularly noteworthy.  But let me digress.

On May 1st 2011, I started writing down the title of every book I read.  It started as a goal to read 40 books in a year (inspired by my brother-in-law).   I’ve been keeping track ever since.  At several points in the list, I have included a date reference.  July 1st is a common date in all 3 lists.  In 2011, I had read 6 books by July 1st.  In 2012, I had read only 5 books by July 1st.  This year, I have read 8.

So back to why this is noteworthy.  As some of you have noted, at time over the past couple of months, I have felt really busy – both with work and the rest of my life.  There were times when it felt like I could use more hours in the day.  I have often felt like there hasn’t been time to stop and do things like read.  But apparently, my perception of how busy I’ve felt and been is wrong because I have read more books during this time period than I have in recent years.  Reading isn’t something I feel like I “have” to do, it is something I “want to do.  Reading is a way I relax, recharge, and fill up my bucket of energy.  Maybe I needed that more over the past two months and without knowing put more “reading” in my life to off-set the busy-ness.  Who knows for sure why I have read so much.  Maybe I need more data or more context to better understand the reasons, but the fact remains, I’ve read 8 books since May 1st.

I didn’t set out to collect data on how many books I’ve read by various dates throughout the year so that I could have this realization.  But having data is better than not having data. You never know when data will reveal a new truth; cause data doesn’t lie.

Sky Report: still mostly overcast and cloudy

Yarn Strands: two light grey strands

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

