Skip to content

church bells

August 4, 2013

It was a few years ago, that we started taking a break from church in the summer.  At first it was in response to the amount of time I had spent at church and on church related activities in the preceding May, June and early July.  However, I must confess, we have continued this habit most summers since then.

But getting back to the church bells.  It was one Sunday morning that first summer that I learned something new about my neighbourhood.  While sitting on the deck that morning, I heard church bells.  It turns out the church a quarter of a mile from my house, rings its bells every Sunday morning as the service starts.  I had never heard this before.  I was busy attending my church a quarter of a mile in the other direction.  Sitting inside my church each Sunday, you can’t hear the bells that are just a short distance away.  It’s kind of sad.

Now when I hear those bells on a Sunday morning, I am reminded that spiritual development and a renewed sense of connection with God happens in small and simple ways.  Sometimes in ways that involve skipping church.  And I think God is okay with that, because hearing the bells makes me  happy and gives me a new-found sense of peace and renewal.

Sky Report at 10:00 – blue sky, but lots of white clouds

Yarn Strands: blue and white

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

