Skip to content

“Some of us preserve”

August 20, 2013

I don’t do a lot of canning or freezing or preserving, but the little bit I do, happens at this time of year.  There is so much fresh local produce that I feel like I should be ‘putting away’ something everyday.  On the weekend, I grated and froze zucchini and also did some corn.  I have 11 quarts of peaches (the standard volume available when purchasing seconds) ripening on my counter waiting to be made into jam and/or be frozen for smoothies.  Tonight I blanched the 15 or so tomatoes that had been sitting on my deck since the weekend.  They were starting to go bad, so I’m going to freeze them and hopefully in a couple of weeks, as more ripen, I’ll have enough for making pasta sauce.  And I have yet to figure out what I’m going to do with the abundance of grapes and bumper crop of pears in my yard.  I know others of you are making salsa and doing pickles and who knows what with crab apples.  It’s the time to preserve.

I share all this because, it’s at times like this that I wish I didn’t work outside my home and had the time to can when the fruit and veggies are ready to can.  It’s a bit like my previous post where I talked about the challenges in our current culture/society with seizing the day (aka carpe diem).  There was a time, a few generations back, when everyone’s life at this time of year was about preserving food for the winter and nobody expected other things to be happening.  I think that would be so much better than squishing making jam into an evening after work.  I know, I know,  the past likely as idealistic as I image it to be.  I’m sure spending days on end over a hot stove, boiling jar after jar after jar probably wasn’t so much fun.  But I’d be willing to give it a try, knowing the efforts from my labour would feed me for months to come.

Sky Report:  blue skies

Yarn strands: both yesterday and today were 2 blue

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

