Skip to content

getting older

August 25, 2013

I’m sure some of you reading the subject line might think “she isn’t old”.  Which is exactly why I said “getting older” not “getting old”.

There are pros and cons associated with growing up.  One of the benefits is becoming more comfortable and sure of yourself.  The awareness of what makes you tick, what makes you happy, what you think and know to be right and true.  Similarly, with age comes a better understanding of the world and how to interact with others and the realization that what ever you are dealing with at some point pass.  I see these things the benefits of aging.

On the flip side, there are some not so great things about getting older.  Life experience often makes us hesitant to take risks since we can see the possible outcomes (and usually the negative ones seem more evident).  This lack of risk taking means we sometimes miss out on great things.  Another large drawback of getting older, is that our bodies don’t always cope well with the things we ask of them.  Now days a few hours standing in kitchen makes my back hurt and my body achy.  It’s easy to remember that I’m not as young as I once was.

As we get older, and with any other situation in life, we can choose to focus on the positives or negatives.  it’s entirely up to each one of us.  And even as I write this, I could think of lots more pros associated with getting older than negatives.  Even after yesterday in the kitchen the cons are much more vivid

Sky Report at almost 10:00 – clear blue skies

Yarn Strands (both yesterday and today): the two blues

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Cath permalink

    Thank you for the reminder that we can choose what we focus on. Lots of body aches today. I have pain but I am not my pain;

Leave a Reply

