Skip to content

Back to School

August 27, 2013

I have always loved back to school time.  I love getting new shoes, new books, new paper and binders, new pencil crayons and all the other things that go along with returning to school.  A few years ago, I took classes towards a degree in Adult Education, the sense of excitement that came with the start of a new term was similar to the enthusiasm of my childhood.

As this last week of August is upon us, I’ve been thinking about back to school a lot.  I try to live vicariously through others, by asking friend’s kids what they are planning to wear the first day of school (the new white jean jacket is going to be a hit in my mind).  And every year about this time, I consider offering to take someone’s kids back to school shopping, just so I can be part of the excitement.

I know school didn’t and doesn’t hold the same appeal for everyone.  But for me it was and continues to be one of the things I love most.  As the first Tuesday after labour day approaches, I encourage you to think about the kids returning to school, the kids going to school for the first time, the parents of all these children, the adults returning to the classroom perhaps for the first time in years, and all the teachers returning to work.  Maybe also consider if it’s time for you to return to some sort of structured educational opportunity.

It’s the first day of school and there is so much potential and possibility, not just in the blank notebooks, but also in the students and teachers.  It’s a magical time.

Sky Report at 10:00 – kind of fogging, kind of overcast, hot, hazy, and to be honest I don’t remember what is was like at 10:00 am.

Yarn Strands: white and rain (the lightest blue)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

