Skip to content

The end of the strand

August 29, 2013

So today for the first time since I started this knitting project, I have come to the end of a strand of yarn.

scarf - aug 29

I must say that when I started this knitting way back in January, I didn’t give much thought to how much yarn I might need in any particular colour.  So as you may recall, I was happy to find some yarn in my maam’s yarn stash and get started.  But in retrospect, I should have perhaps anticipated that some colours like the main blue (in this case “light slate blue”) might require more than one ball of yarn before the end of the year.

As I could see this moment coming, I began thinking about my options a couple of weeks ago.  I figured I could put a lot of time and energy into trying to find the exact same colour (and if I really cared same die lot number) OR I could see what I could find.  I decided to start with option B and so once again returned to my mothers basement.  Okay so really, I asked her to see what she had in her stash that was close.  She provided 3 new blue yarn balls (NOTE: to be clear – not new balls of yarn, new blues).  One ball was quickly discarded as being too light, as my goal was to match as closely to the existing blue as possible.  After a few trips outside to check things in the natural light, I selected the blue in the photo above.  It’s not the same brand of yarn, but I think it’s pretty close in colour.  The official  name of this new blue to replace the light slate blue is called “pale blue”.  Let’s just hope it seamlessly blends in.

Sky Report at 10:00 – clear and sunny

Yarn Strands: light denim blue and the last of the light slate blue

From → Knitting Updates

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

