Skip to content

Knowing how to live

September 11, 2013

Over the past 24 hours, I have come across two different references to the idea that Canadian’s don’t really know how to fully live or maybe I should say “live fully”.   In one case it was in reference to the busyness of our society, the fast pace of life, and all that comes with that and made by a person who had moved to France (FYI – No I didn’t know the person it was on TV).  The other comment was in an article I read about someone who was briefly living in Winnipeg to go to school, but planned to return to his home country of Benin in Africa.  He said “People are not living well here. They have money and infrastructure but people are not happy here. …. Money and the other things that we strive after does not bring happiness.”

Both of these comments really hit me.   After recently spending time experiencing the slower pace of life on Pelee Island, it does make me question if I “know how to live”.  Do I spend my time and energy doing the things that are not so important and as result miss out on what really matters.  I’ve written in the past about slowing down, spending time with the people that matter, and all those things.  And I really mean them, but it’s easy to get caught up in the messages that are all around us and think we need or want other things.  We live in a culture and a point in time where working hard, accumulating stuff, having more, having new, keeping up with the Joneses, etc all seem like the point of life sometimes.  It was encouraging to hear that maybe we don’t have all the answers, that our way isn’t the best way to experience and live life.

I don’t have solutions or answers to this tension I experience.  But I’m glad that I continue to have experience and read things that remind me to question my choices and priorities.   And maybe someday I’ll have a chance to life in a place where the culture is a bit different.

Sky Report at 10:00 – cloudy where I was

Yarn Strands: grey and white

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

