Skip to content

Ode to a Pear Tree

September 15, 2013

 

pear tree2I have a pear tree in my yard.  I’m going to guess this pear tree is between 50-100 years old.  Similar to the apple tree in “The Giving Tree” by Shel Silverstein, this pear tree has provided me with many wonderful things.  In the spring, this tree has the most beautiful blossoms.

DSCF0194

In the heat of the summer, it’s branch create an oasis of shade where you can catch the best breeze in my yard.  Now in the early fall, there is an abundance of pears.  Too many for us, ample to share with others.  And as a bonus, when the leaves fall later in the autumn there aren’t so many that we need to worry about raking them.

They say planting trees demonstrates your hope in the future.  I’m not sure if the person who planted this pear tree what feeling hopeful or not, but I am so grateful for their actions.  As my pear tree brings me happiness all year round.

Sky Report at 9:30 – grey, overcast and cloudy

Yarn Strands: grey and white

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment