Skip to content

Personal Playlist

October 30, 2013

What would be on your playlist?

There is a relatively new program on CBC where musicians get to fill an hour with songs of their choosing.  Obviously they get an hour on CBC because they are established musicians.  Tonight as I heard my fourth or fifth musician share their list, it made me think about what might be on my personal playlist.  What 8 or 9 songs would I pick that also have an accompanying story to describe why I put them on my list.   And so while not finalized, here are some that would be up for consideration (in no particular order):

  1. Dark Angel by Blue Rodeo
  2. Something by Barenaked Ladies – not sure which song I’d pick yet (see previous blog post about the Barenaked Ladies)
  3. Poison & Wine by The Civil Wars
  4. Boots & Hearts by The Tragically Hip – because asking people which are their favourite Hip songs was a discussion starter in my youth.
  5. Venice is Sinking by Spirit of the West  – because I love in the part where you hear the kid laugh
  6. Change your Mind by Sister Hazel (see previous blog post)
  7. Something by John Denver – as I’ve always regret not having seen him in concert – maybe even something with John Denver and the Muppets, they did good work together.  🙂

Anyway, it’s not done and I reserve the right to change it as I think about it more.  But it’s a fun little exercise isn’t it?  What would be on your playlist?

Sky Report at 10:00 – another sunny day

Yarn Strands – the two blues

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

