Skip to content

Nativity Scenes

November 18, 2013

DSCF1514

I collect Nativity scenes.  I’m not sure exactly when it started or that I even made a conscious decision to expand the collection.  Fifteen years ago, I might have had one or two dollarstore sets.  And I know I got 1 as a wedding gift.  But around 10-12 years ago there was an explosion in my collection and it grew from a small collection of 4 or 5, to today there likely being over 40.  To be honest, I don’t really keep a count.

The other day someone asked if I had a favourite nativity scene.  But I don’t.  They are all so different.  Some have lots of pieces, some are one piece.  Some have a stable, some don’t.  Some are big, some are small.  Some have many characters from the bible story, some have only Mary, Joseph and the baby Jesus.  I have some I like better than others, but they are all unique and each has its own story.  DSCF1524

These days I try to curb my nativity scene acquisitions, in the name of lack of storage.  But they seem to call out to me and I just can’t resist ones that are different than the ones I currently own.  And so each year, I end up with 1 or 2 new ones.

But nativity scenes are part of what I love about Christmas.  As I sit here looking at the ones on display in my bookshelves, I am smiling.  They really do make me happy.

DSCF1535

Sky Report at 10:00 & Yarn Strands – It would take 4 or 5 different colours of yarn to effectively capture the various shades of grey clouds that were in the sky this morning, but since that’s not the kind of scarf I’m knitting, it will have to be 2 greys.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

