Skip to content

Re-thinking “drowning”

November 20, 2013

The term “drowning” is one I use to describe how I feel when I’m overwhelmed by things in life.  I most commonly use this term at work, but I have been known to apply it to my personal life too.   I say I’m drowning when the number of things added to the “to do” list in a  given day or week isn’t off-set by getting some things removed from the “to do” list.  But today, I was given a new way to think about the state, the one I would call “drowning”.  Here is what I read:

“How deep is this water? If it’s over your head, does it really matter? At some point, when the stakes are high enough and your skills and desires are ready, you will swim.  And when you swim, who cares how deep the water is? [You might find that deeper water is actually calmer and easier to swim in…]”

And the truth is in the situations where I’m thinking I’m drowning at some point I start swimming.  I stop panicking about all that needs to be done and I start making progress on things – I start swimming.

It was great to have a new way to think about things.  So not to say I won’t ever feel like I’m drowning again, but maybe in those moments, I’ll remember it doesn’t matter how the deep the water is, just swim.

FYI – for those of you who read this blog as a reflection of my life – I’m not experiencing the “drowning” feeling right now.

Sky Report at 10:00 – last sunny day for several, loved the blue skies and sunshine

Yarn Strands – two blues

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

