Skip to content

Good Conversation

November 28, 2013

Totally by accident today, I came across the content for this blog post.  Something was retweeted by someone I flow on twitter, and when I visited that person’s page, I found a recent tweet that than person had retweeted.  If you can’t follow that sentence, don’t worry about it.  The point is, I followed a trail back a few people and totally by accident read the following idea:

“Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people.”

I worry a  lot about my poor conversation skills.  I do great when I meet someone for the first time.  I can ask good questions about their life and their interests.  But after that, I really struggle.  I just don’t know what to talk to people about.

Conversely, I know people who are naturally gifted at initiating good conversation about ideas.  I agree with the quote that these people have great minds.  I enjoy being with these people and consider them excellent dinner companions.  I’m confident their ability to discuss ideas is as much a skill or habit as it is a natural gift.

I am not writing this to comment on the minds of anyone else.  But to honour those ‘great minds’ and inspire the rest of us to get better.  I only hope my skills in this area will get improve with awareness and practice.

Sky Report in morning – at lunch time I noticed the sun was shining, but earlier in the morning there was a light snow fall.

Yarn Strands – grey and white

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

