Skip to content

Time & Great Co-workers

December 6, 2013

I’m sure I have written in the past about how time and history is such a key variable for me when it comes to friendships.  Over the past week, I’ve been reminded about how much this also applies to my relationships with my co-workers.  I’ve worked for the same organization for close to 10 years.  And while for the most part I’ve had limited outside work contact with my co-workers, after 10 years I’m starting to feel very connected to many of them.

I kind of joke that it’s taken 10 years for me to create that connection, but at this point there is no denying it that many of them are more than just co-workers.  I work with many fantastic people, this I’ve known for a few years now.  And when I consider that some of them have been a part of my life for 10 years, it’s seems crazy not to define them as just co-workers.

So I’m not entirely sure what my point is, but maybe it’s to say don’t undervalue the role of time, the impact of hundreds of days spent in the same building working towards the same goal, and the connections created after a thousand tiny conversations.  These people will start to infiltrate your heart and become part of your circle of people.  And that’s a good thing.

Sky Report – grey and overcast

Yarn Strands – two grey

 

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I’m thankful for the connections made through thousands of small (and a few big) conversations with each other. It makes me happy to have you as a friend, even if it did start in the workplace!

Leave a Reply

