Skip to content

the moment of pause

December 11, 2013

You know that moment between when the choir ends singing and the audience starts clapping.  I love that moment of pause.  I feel blessed to have had a high school music teacher who taught me about the importance of that pause.   During that moment the music lingers in the air, even though there is no audible sound.

I kind of feel the same way when I finish a good book.  I love to read, but sometimes wonder if I love finishing a book even more than I love reading.  And often as I am nearing the end of a book I’m already thinking about what I’ll read next.  And yet, after finishing a really good book, I find myself hesitating to crack open the next one, as I want or maybe need to pause for a moment and let the previous story sink in.

Too often we rush onto the next thing, I think there is something truly wonderful in these moments of pause.

Sky Report at 10:00 – snowing

Yarn Strands – two white

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

