Skip to content

sharing passion

January 12, 2014

This post might seem a bit different.  Usually, I attempt to share something inspirational or thought provoking.  However, this post is going to offer a bit of an explanation and intro of possible things to come.

Perhaps you hadn’t noticed this trend, but I tend not to write about my work.  To a certain extent this is intentional.  I work for an organization that provides supports to people with developmental disabilities.  My lack of writing about what I do is perhaps some misguided sense that this helps maintain people’s privacy, while also ensuring I don’t cross any official policies on representing the organization.

But this failure to share about my work, means I fail to share about something that I feel passionate about.  I feel strongly that everyone should lead a full and meaningful life; however they personally define that.  I feel strongly that everyone has gifts and things to contribute.  I feel strongly that fair doesn’t mean equal.  I feel strongly that I want to live in a society where these things are a reality.

Those I work with regularly experience and encounter my passion.  But if I’m going to do my part in having these things become reality, I’m going to have to do more than just talk about it at work.  I’m going to have to do more than just write about it on this blog.  And I’m going to have to do more than just talk and write.

I didn’t sent a goal or resolution for the year on January 1.  But I think my January 12 goal is to take steps; however small to make the things I’m passionate about part of all aspects of my life.

Heads up, I think you just became part of that process.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

