Skip to content

why I love aaron sorkin

January 27, 2014

This past weekend I began watching Season 1 of The Newsroom on DVD.  I’m already on episode 6.  Once again I was reminded about how much I love Aaron Sorkin.

For those of you not familiar with Aaron, he is the creative mind behind shows such as Sports Night, Studio 60, and if you aren’t familiar with these two then I’m sure you have heard of The West Wing.  Aaron writes smart, humuorous, fast-paced TV.   They are shows that you don’t have on in the background while you do something else like knit, blog, cook, etc.  because they require that level of focus.  But don’t take that the wrong way, while they demand focus, you also want to give that focus as the writing is just that good.  Aaron has a way of making you really care about the characters; you easily start thinking they are real people that are part of your life, not just on TV.  I have other TV shows and TV characters I like; but my connection and involvement with them doesn’t get even close to the level of connection and involvement I have felt (and maybe still feel) for Aaron’s characters (especially the West Wing gang).

I don’t know Mr. Sorkin personally, and I can’t comment on other aspects of his life. But I truly appreciate the contributions he has made to the quality of TV.  If you haven’t experienced his greatness, start with The West Wing.  It is perhaps the best TV I’ve ever seen and even though it is several year old, the stories stand the test of time.

And mostly today, I’m just so glad to have Aaron and his characters back in my life, because I love Aaron Sorkin and The Newsroom people already feel like old friends.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

