Skip to content

World Book Day

March 6, 2014

Today is World Book Day 2014.  While I’m never entirely sure these “international days” aren’t made up, I wanted to pass this one along.

books

I love books!  I read a lot in my childhood and there were always books in our house.  These days my house is still full of books and my “to read” pile grows more quickly than I can read.  For the past few years, I’ve read about 40 books a year.

Today in honour of World Book Day, I heard a radio show where they asked people about a book that had impacted or changed their life.  Perhaps because of how much I read, I didn’t have a quick answer to that question for myself.  I’ve read hundreds and hundreds of books in my lifetime, some were good, some not so good.  Some I remember with a fair amount of detail; while others have completely slipped my mind.

So while I can’t think of a book that changed my life, I have looked at the list of books I’ve read over the past 3 years (when I first started keeping a list of how many books I read a year).  There are several that stood out as broadening my horizons and the way I think about things; but the one I loved the most was “The History of Love” by Nicole Krauss.

What about you – what is your favourite book of all time or even the past couple of year?  What book changed your life?  What book do you tell others to read?  What is your favourite childhood book?

To celebrate World Book Day, let’s talk about books!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

