Skip to content

Choices Road Sign

March 30, 2014

Last week while at a workshop for work (which I’m sure I’ll blog about many times over the coming days, as it resulted in so many new experiences and insights), I shared that one of the things I dream about is the sense that my priorities are reflected in my actions and how I spend my time.  Which further led to the realization that to achieve this feeling, I have to make choices.  There is only so much time in a day and energy inside myself.  We all have to make choices about where that time and energy is given.

The workshop focus included turning thoughts and words into graphic representations.  The image below reminds me of those choices.

choicesign

It’s one of those signs you see as you get off the highway (e.g., the 401) which tells you how many kilometres it is to each of the restaurants, hotels, gas stations, etc..  You have to make a choice at that point about which is your  priority and destination.

This idea was further reinforced when I read the following quote: “The whole work-life balance thing is complete crap. Life is about making choices, and no matter what, you’re going to second guess them.” 

So there isn’t a magic solution to how to make the choices, but they are your choices to make and better to be actively choosing than to be sitting frozen just staring at the sign.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

