Skip to content

the year of the stretch

April 3, 2014

Last week, a woman told me that she had decided that for her this was the year of the stretch.  I didn’t have a chance to ask her much about this, so I’m not sure how much that relates to physically stretching vs. trying new things and getting beyond her comfort zone.  My sense is it is a combination of both.

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve been able apply this “year of the stretch” idea to a number of situations I’ve found myself in. For example, last weeks’ workshop stretch my thinking about people and myself.  Last night I had the new experience of crowd singing a Red Hot Chili Peppers song at a poetry slam.  And through all of this, I’m pondering a different job.  Maybe without intentionally trying, this will also be my stretch phase.  Maybe for the next little while, I’m going to have to embrace the idea of being just beyond the range of what I’m familiar with and comfortable with.  And since that thought isn’t overwhelming me, I think that means it’s good and where I’m supposed to be.

Not all the phases of our lives can be ‘stretch’ phases.  But there is a time for everything and if this is my stretch time I’m going to embrace it.  I might even start doing some physical stretching as well.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

