Skip to content

Accomplishment without an Action Plan

October 20, 2014

This past weekend, I achieved a goal I didn’t even know I had.  It’s a bit of strange feeling, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about, and writing about, and coaching about the value of setting goals and making action plans to achieve them.  But this weekend I realized that sometimes the greatest sense of accomplishment comes from something you didn’t think was so important.

In April, I started running.  I had toyed with the idea of becoming a “runner” prior to that, but I followed the plan of a friend and started working towards running 5 km.  I clearly remember the first day I was supposed to run 1 km and how much thought and strategy and worry I put into that first kilometre.  In early July I got to point where I was running 5 km, but got sidetracked during the heat and busyness of the summer.  Then this fall I committed to running in a 5 km event.  I began working up to 5 km again and was feeling good about my running.  On Sunday morning I did the 5 km event.  I wasn’t nervous or worried before hand.  It ended up being a bit harder than I thought, despite my pre-training.  But the act of having been part of the Oktoberfest 5 km, finishing in a time that was faster than I expected, and really feeling pretty good overall; has resulted in this sense of pride and accomplishment that I never really imagined.   I can’t say that I ever put “run a 5 km” on my goal list.  And yet I get this this warm fuzzy, happy, smiley feeling inside me every time I think about it.

Pride and accomplishment (and warm fuzzy, happy, smilely feelings) are not limited just to the goals we put on our list and set out to achieve.  Sometimes that feeling comes from something you didn’t think was going to be that important.  There is nothing wrong with enjoying and reveling in these feeling; there is nothing wrong with being proud of your accomplishments.  It seems to me, that many of us need to be a bit more “okay” with feeling pride.  Including feeling pride and accomplishments for things that didn’t involve an action plan.  It’s all good.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Darolyn permalink

    So proud of how you rocked this run!! #wearerunners

Leave a Reply

