Skip to content

hope

December 21, 2014

I have spent the past couple of days thinking about ‘hope’.  My challenge was that I couldn’t think of a way to describe hope.  What is hope exactly?  Did the fact that I couldn’t describe it mean I didn’t have any?  I tried to dig back into my memory and recall a previous advent sermon on the topic, as hope often is discussed at this time of year, and that still didn’t seem to help.  I had nothing.  But it didn’t go away, I continued to think about the word and the feeling.  HOPE.

As of mid-afternoon today, the best connection I came up with to ‘hope’ was the fact that today had the fewest hours of daylight of the year. That starting tomorrow the days all start getting a bit longer every day.  And maybe that is what hope is like too.  It’s a sense that things are going to get better.  When I did a quick search for the official definition of hope, this is what I found:

– a feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen

– feeling of trust.

– to want something to happen or be the case.
And so it fits – hope and hours of daylight.  I trust the days are going to get longer and I have a feeling of expectation and desire for that to happen.  So I guess that is hope.  It feels like a pretty lame comparison; as I know hope should be so much more.  I think I could use some additional examples to draw on and think about.  So I welcome your thoughts on hope, what it is for you and where you find it and see it in your lives.
HOPE
From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. sue permalink

    Yes, an anticipation with desire and excitement! I rarely hear hope decribed when there is a dreaded
    event in the future tho. . . . . thanks for this inspiration Megan. Sue

Leave a Reply

