Skip to content

Should have done it …..

March 17, 2015

Lately I’ve been thinking about things I should have done 5 or 7 or 2 years ago.  How if I had just done them then, I would have been enjoying the outcomes of those actions for several years already.

This isn’t really about regret, but rather about the things you never quite get around to doing, or feel aren’t quite worth the effort, or just weren’t sure if you really wanted to do them.  In my case, they are often good things. They relate to the things in life that in most cases are unbearable situations (generally they are fine) or to things that seem unessential to have or do (the extras in life).  However, if I had just taken action all those years ago when I first talked about whatever it is, it would already be in my life or have happened and I would be enjoying.  Of course I am assuming that the decision would have resulted in positive outcomes, which isn’t a guarantee and this might be part of why I haven’t done these things.

Interestingly, I’m also wondering which things I’m not doing today (or this month or this year) that 5 years from now I’m going to wonder why I didn’t just do it then.

What are the non-crisis situations in your life that you want to change?  What are the non-essential things you wish you had?  What are the non-essential activities you are thinking about doing?  In 2 or 5 or 7 years, will you think “I should have done that….”?  Maybe you should just do it.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

