Skip to content

ideas for writing

August 11, 2015

I was recently part of a discussion about where people get their ideas to write.  I believe the conversation started by wondering if writers ever run out of things to write about and then moved to where fiction writers get their ideas.  We concluded that there are ideas all around us – the group of 4 women on the train who were off for their annual trip, for example.   The books are there in the back stories we create make up as we think about who there are, where they come from, and how they know each other.

Around that same time, I noticed another situation that was odd and interesting and I mentioned to the people I work with that it was a novel in the making.  But you know right now  I can’t remember what that situation was.  This example does more to highlight my point than I realized when I thought about this blog post.  My point is that there are things to write about all around us, we just need to pay attention, remember them and then write.

I continue to feel challenged by the fact that for a year, I managed to find something every day to write about for this blog.  Now days I only seem to write every couple of weeks.  This is due to 2 main factors: (1) I don’t spend my day paying attention to the things around me, with the thought of what I can write about later and (2) I just don’t write.  In addition, paying attention and remembering, writing is just something you have to do.  There are some things in our lives that we will just do without any prompting or extra motivation, but as with most job and hobbies and activities (even those we enjoy), writing for me is something I just have to do.  Seldom will I ‘feel” like writing.  And I wonder if many authors and writers are the same way.  But if you add it to a task list or set aside a specific time each day, then it happens, and in the long run I’m happier when I have written, happier when I have posted a blog.

So (1) pay attention, (2) remember, (3) just do it.

 

PS – I remembered the other idea for a fiction book – the 40 year old woman who brought her mother to a job interview…. see now there’s a back story you wish you knew….

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

