Skip to content

things to do in my 40th year #2

October 10, 2015

As I wrote the title this blog, I wondered if I had or had not written about the first thing in the list of things to do in my 40th year.  I didn’t check.  I will some day.  But on to item #2.   I got a tattoo.

About a week and a half ago, a friend and I went to get a tattoo.  Maybe it will be our first and only, maybe it won’t.  It’s hard to predict at this point.

I had thought about getting a tattoo for a lot of years.  Tattoos are a commitment.  You have to be able to commit to the image and the location.  I sometimes have trouble with commitment.  But really in the grand scheme of things I should be making commitments to in life, a tattoo is really minor.  So I guess I see this a good first step in jumping in and committing to more things in my life.  Something to do in my 40th year and to keep doing in the years to come.

For those of you interested in the tattoo experience, here are my current thoughts (10 days post).  Actually getting the tattoo is not so bad.  Yes it hurts, but my tattoo is small and so the pain was short lived.  I’m less enthusiastic about the after care. things like not wearing boots and socks on the fall days, not being in the hot tub when it is perfect hot tub weather, and stressing about wrecking it and needing a touch up which means doing this after call all over again.  These are things I don’t love about getting a tattoo.

Commitment and Minor Adversity – good things to do in my 40th year (is that #3 and 4?).

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

