Skip to content

It’s a warm November

November 22, 2015

It’s been a warm November… (for those of you who are Counting Crows fans, perhaps the song “Long December is running through your head right now). So warm in fact that I drove my convertible with the top down just a couple of weeks ago. The warm weather is great in some ways (like the convertible driving and perfect weather for walking), but it has certainly delayed my Christmas spirit. Most years, I tell myself I have to wait until second weekend in November to start getting out the nativity scenes, trees, and other Christmas decorations. This year it wasn’t an issue.

I always thought that I could live in a place where the climate was mid-teens to mid-twenties all the time. Perfect for outside activities like gardening, walking, and sitting on the deck to read. But this warm November has caused me to re-think this dream. Christmas just doesn’t feel like Christmas when it’s 15 or 20 degrees outside. So this weekend I’m thankful for the cold temperatures and lots of snow that got me in the Christmas mood, the decorations out, and the baking supply list made. Now if only I had seized the sunny 20 degree day to cut my dogwood and greenery…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

