Skip to content

who are the bands or singers you were obsessed with in your youth?

February 3, 2016

There is something unique about those years between 13 and 23 that allows one to become obsessed with specific musical bands and singers?  Think about it for a minute.  Isn’t it true that when you think about the bands and singers for whom you bought albums, played them over and over again, and subsequently learned the words to every song; those bands/singers were from your youth?

There was something about the routines of our lives during that time period that enabled one to listen to music more hours of the day than hours where we weren’t listening to music.  We were obsessed with music and usually with specific bands/singers.  We listened to music in our cars, while we studied, while we hung out in our rooms (at home or at university), while we walked to or waited for the bus, while we rode the bus, when we hung out with friends, the list is endless.  At this point, having music around me all the time and controlling that music isn’t as much a part of my life.  I know a few exceptions to this generalization, people who continue to listen all the time and I keep thinking I should be more like them.

Forming an obsession with new bands/singers just doesn’t seem to happen with the same frequency or intensity these days.  As I think about concerts I want to go to and the bands/singers I want to see perform live, many of them are the bands of my youth.   Who are the bands of your youth?  The songs you still know all the words to.  The songs and albums that when you hear them you are transported back to a different time and place? Who should you go see in concert?

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. marni permalink

    Girl you know it’s true! ….to quote a ‘band’ from my younger days. I smile when I think of the music that I have shared with you and look forward to more musical moments #gotomoreconcerts

  2. early in my teens – the Monkees, then Janis Joplin, Jimmy Hendix, Blood Sweat and Tears, Chicago, Three Dog Night, Carole King, Guess Who, Hall and Oates – these were the ones I wore albums out on, and in some cases was able to see in concert – some silly short lived ones – Peter Frampton, Doobie Bros, then Tom Waites, Alan Parson Project, John Prine, Joe Cocker – it’s obvious that I liked the less conventional voices 🙂 Van Morrison, The Chieftains, still have a lot of these LP’s, just nothing to play them on. These were all pre-Christ, but some of them I still listen to from time to time. No doubt about it, music is an amazing gift from God.
    Aren’t you glad you asked? 🙂

Leave a Reply

