Skip to content

things to do in my 40th year #3 – New Traditions

March 28, 2016

There are only a couple of months left in my 40th year.  I must confess, I didn’t write down the list of “things to do in my 40th year”, and so I can’t comment on whether or not I’ve done them all.  My failure to make a list is rather shocking (I love a good list), but perhaps in this situation, it is for the best.  Not having a list, means that I feel no guilt or frustration about the things I haven’t achieved.  Not having a list to consult, means I can add new items whenever I want.

Last week I added something new to my “things to do in my 40th year” list.  I’m going to start some new traditions.  Sometimes I feel the pressure to have started habits and traditions at the beginning.  That it feels wrong to suddenly start something new.   For example, I just started a new birthday tradition with my friends son who is turning 1.  This is of course the ‘right’ moment to begin a birthday tradition.  But I’m going to let go of my ‘right’ moment hang up, and start a similar tradition with a couple of others in my life.  It doesn’t matter if it’s their first birthday or their 9th birthday or their 51th birthday.  If it’s a great idea and going to build relationships, does it really matter that it didn’t start at the very beginning?

Just over a week ago, we participated in the Second Annual Celebrate Spring event with some friends.  What started as a random drop by after work thing on the first day of Spring last year, has turned into an annual celebration.  We have been friends with these people almost as many years as we have been alive, and yet it’s never the wrong time to start a new tradition with them.  Like I said, if it’s a great idea and going to build relationships, does it really matter that it didn’t start at the very beginning?

These traditions might have started in my 40th year, but I hope they are just the beginning of many more.  Don’t be afraid to start something new with the people you care about.  It doesn’t matter if it’s not the ‘right moment’ or the very beginning.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

