Skip to content

old friends & new friends

April 21, 2016

So sometimes I get several “blog ideas” at the same time.  In these situations, I write a few words to help me remember and save it as a draft.  (Yes I am aware, that if I have all these ideas sitting in the ‘draft’ folder, I should be posting blogs more frequently.)

About a month ago I wrote this title and the names of both a old friend and some newer friends.  I had just been to a party where I bumped into a friend that I spent a fair amount of time with 15 years ago, but had seen rarely in the past 10.  I felt happy and blessed that my newer friends had kids that went to school with the kids of this old friend, so that we all ended up at the same party.  It was a great evening.  I quickly remembered all the fun times and adventures with the old friend; it was great to re-connect.  Another great aspect of the evening we celebrating the birthday of one of my newer friends, with whom I’m having new fun times and adventures.

Since saving those names and the title, I’ve had several additional experiences where I was reminded of the comfort and magic of the friends I’ve known for years and years; even though we don’t see each other often or communicate often.  Some of these are people I’ve known since high school, others are people I’ve gotten to know as I traveled the province and spent time with co-workers across the province.  I love the fact that there are people with whom I quickly move past the months without contact and start talking about what really matters in life.  It’s in these conversations that I’m reminded of the many many people I’ve known over the years – of the many old friends I have.

At the same time, over the past month, I have also had some great conversations, laughs and shared experiences with new friends.  And I’m confident that at some point years from now, these people will be in the old friends category.  People with whom, I instantly re-connect and share laughs and talk about what’s really going on in our lives.

Make new friends, but keep the old.  One is silver and the other’s gold.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

