Skip to content

find your way by getting lost

July 24, 2016

We find our way by getting lost.

Several days ago, I read this statement in a blog post about project or invention breakthroughs.  It hasn’t gone away.  Although not because I’m inventing something or working on some large project.

I’m the kind of person who loves a map.  The kind of person who wants to know what the plan is (even when the plan is to not have a plan, it’s still a plan).  I don’t like feeling lost.  I don’t like the unknown or the unpredictable.  And yet I agree with the idea the some of the best learning and best growth comes when we don’t have all the answers, when we don’t have a plan.  On vacation, the best finds are the ones we didn’t pre-plan – the places we just “ended up”.

How can I learn to be more comfortable being ‘lost’?  How do we all become more comfortable living in the moment, just being open to whatever and where ever life take us?  How do I be okay with having less control?

I don’t really have answers – only more questions.  But isn’t that kind of the point – “We find our way by getting lost.”

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

