Skip to content

only for a time

August 28, 2016

Lately I’ve been thinking about the people (and pets) who were in my life ‘only for a time’.   You know the people you spent endless hours with in high school or during your post secondary education, or maybe at a previous workplace.   In lots of cases, these are people I have entirely lost touch with.  They were so important at the time, part of day-to-day interactions.  People I laughed with, people who weighed in on my decisions (often big and small), people who helped shape the person I am today.  And yet I don’t see them, and I don’t even know how to get in touch with them if I wanted to.

At the same time, I’ve been reminded that there are people with whom I spend tons and tones of time with now, but who weren’t part of my life 15 years ago.  People who remind me that they were never at the house I lived at 10 years ago, people who I didn’t know in high school, people who I spoke with only professionally until 2 years ago when I switched positions at work.  And now these are the people who I laugh with, who I seek their input into my decisions (big and small), people who are helping shape the person I continue to become.

It’s impossible to predict who will be the people who are part of our lives for a specific period of time and people who we remain connected to over decades.  But if we treasure and appreciate people on a day-to-day basis, we don’t have to feel sadness or regret when things changes, when people drift apart, and when new people become part of circle of relationships, even if it’s only for a time.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

